Fallout 3 Impressions At Guardian.co.uk

On the Guardian Games blog Greg Howson announces that he will have an interview made during the Fallout 3 demo session that happened last Friday, and gives some early thoughts on the game:

But yes, you can play this as a first person shooter, though think more Mass Effect than Halo.

I also had a quick hands-on play with the 360 code. More on this later but I was far more impressed by the landscape and setting than I expected. Admittedly I was only on for about an hour but the novelty of wrecked concrete bridges, 50’s paraphernalia and two headed cows didn’t wear off. The epic draw distance helped too – it certainly felt that you could see more than in Oblivion, though obviously Fallout’s wasteland has a few less trees than Cyrodiil.

The combat felt a little bit spongy, similar to the early stages of Mass Effect. But then the character I played was right at the start of the game so things are likely to improve. The VATS system will clearly come into its own when you have better weaponry and skill but even at low levels it seemed to work well. Perhaps the biggest surprise to me was how much the game felt like Oblivion. From the way armour is stripped from enemy corpses to the insane amount of junk that is quickly picked up Oblivion fans will feel at home. And yes, the voice acting seems better – not that it could be worse of course – with the four conversations I had each voiced by someone different. Yes, previews tend to be positive but from what I’ve seen so far Fallout 3 looks hugely promising.

Leave a comment