Fallout 3: Return of The Emil

obkotn-03-220.jpg

Picture from WesJohnson.com

Fallout 3 Lead Designer Emil Pagliarulo replied to even more fan questions that were raised on the Bethesda Games Fallout 3 forum:

Mungrul: If that is indeed true, then unfortunately I must conclude that he doesn’t have what it takes to become the next Miyamoto / Will Wright / Sid Meier. Rather than being a creative force, he’s merely a wage-slave.
Artistic integrity isn’t worth much when you’re only capable of imitating other, greater artists who have gone before you.

Emil Pagliarulo: Well, I’ve been a wage slave before, and it sure felt a lot different than working at Bethesda, I can tell you that much.

Do I work for paycheck? Well… sure. I’m supporting a good size family, and this is my profession. This is how I bring home the bacon, and provide my kids food, clothes, and Lego Star Wars.

Now, that said, being a designer at Bethesda or anywhere else has never been a “job” for me. Are you kidding? My “jobs” were working in an electronics warehouse, or delivering packages throughout the Boston financial district. I do what I do at Bethesda because, through some crazy twist of fate, I ended up doing the one thing in the universe I feel I was born to do. I live to come to work in the morning. Hell, if I won $30 million in the lottery tonight, I’m pretty damn sure I’d be back in the office tomorrow morning. So whether I’m doing Dark Brotherhood stuff in Oblivion, or serving as lead designer on Fallout 3, I do what I do because I’m completely in love with it. Everyone should be so lucky.

Here’s the interesting thing about Miyamoto/Will Wright/Sid Meier and any other recognizable game developer — they are, without a doubt, incredibly talented, incredibly creative people. But the story of game development is the story of unsung heroes. Any modern game is made by a team of people over a course of (sometimes several) years. Behind every figurehead are dozens of incredibly talented people — programmers, artists, animators, hell even QA guys — whose existence most people will never even be aware of. At Bethesda, I’m honored to work with these people. I’m awed by their talent and commitment. Creative force? Bah. I’m happy to be a creative person, in a creative medium, who gets to work with loads of other creative people.

Cal: Will the pc and console versions have the exact same content?

Emil Pagliarulo: It’s the exact same content, with interfaces changes appropriate for either version. Was it designed as a PC or console game? Honestly, both. From the first days of pre-production, we planned the game that way. We designed for it.

Uncanny Garlic: Some questions even though I think the only reason Emil stopped by was damage control for the reaction to his terrible interview.

Emil Pagliarulo: It would only be damage control if *I* thought it was a terrible interview… and I didn’t. if you’re referring to the “fan question,” I thought I got my point across pretty well. That point being, “You can respect the fans, but at the end of the day you have to trust your own creative instincts and make the best game you can. The game you think is the best.”

Look, everyone always asks that question, and there’s no way for me to give an answer that won’t be picked apart and scrutinized. It’s the “hot button topic,” you know? smile.gif

To Gizmo, by “modern” I meant most big budget American titles. I love Jeff Vogel’s games, but they’re an exception to the rule. And I think he’s done that by having a tiny team, without all the crazy overhead of “bigger” games.

Rabish 12: Emil, what (aside from the original Fallouts) is your primary source of inspiration for Fallout 3, or (if you can’t choose) the thing that you look to more than anything else when you need inspiration for F3? No cheating, now – I want one thing, not a list!

Emil Pagliarulo: Damn… ONE thing? Seriously? Hmm…

Well, it’s got to be Fallout. Not the whole series, mind you, but the first Fallout specifically. The world, the themes, the characters, the back fiction — they were really my greatest inspiration when crafting Fallout 3’s story and gameplay.

Rabish — oooooooohhhhh… sry bout that!

Okay, greatest source of inspiration besides Fallout… Honestly? Life. People I’ve met, places I’ve been, things I’ve done, emotions I’ve felt. You can’t beat true human experience for true inspiration. At least, I can’t.

For visual and post-apocalyptic references, he’d be absolutely right. For depressing nuclear war reality? The Road or Testament. For 50’s sci-fi vibe? Probably Forbidden Planet.

Thanks Lingwei at NMA.

One thought on “Fallout 3: Return of The Emil

  1. Pingback: GoneMicrosoft » Blog Archive » Fallout 3 Interview- It's where you end up

Leave a Reply

