The F1 of FO1

falloutbox.gif

Yesterday I showed a few statements by Chris “anarchy” Taylor, where at one point he said:

Bummer the guy didn’t find the hotkeys, it makes the game so much more enjoyable to play.

The guy is Dan Ross from Bethsoft Quality Assurance, and he had this to say on the Bethesda Games Fallout 3 forum:

That is too funny and I really can’t explain it. I’ve played through Fallout completely maybe 9 times now, started and run at least 20-30 characters through parts of the game, and simply created and played around with at least a dozen other ‘test’ character builds since I got it a year or two after it came out. I only got a hold of F2 last year and I am now on my 3rd play-through as of yesterday since I ended up spending most of last weekend messing with it when I wasn’t watching Heroes on DVD. The skill thing came up because I decided I wanted to pick a door open to save some dynamite, no matter how many times I had to reload the save.

Up until last night (after reading through the thread) had I never once used the keyboard for anything other than opening the main menu while playing through either game. I still don’t even know where my manuals are! Good thing I discovered* I can press F1… laugh.gif

*Yes, I was going through and pushing every key on the keyboard to find out what each one did. Just in case I missed something else. angel.gif

He found the manuals now, all is well 🙂

3 thoughts on “The F1 of FO1

  1. Hehe, I guess the problem is that people got so used to tutorials, only few read manuals nowadays. Given the dullness of most manuals, can you blame them?

    My personal favorite is JA, that is a good manual. Of course, I figured a good deal of things on my own but for the few that bothered me early, I looked them up in the manual.

    The Armageddon Empires demo also featured no tutorial, so I spent some time reading the manual, and learned a lot of things.

    Still, if we keep getting bad manuals, we definitely won’t kick the “manuals are boring” mentality out of most people.
    You do have to wonder if there’s a point in having both printed and .pdf manuals (as opposed to just .pdf) if only a few will read them.

    Eh… everything is rushed these days.

  2. Given the dullness of most manuals, can you blame them?

    You can, because that’s the exact “cultural movement” that’s responsible for people not even reading ingame texts…

    Anyway, most manuals are pretty dull nowadays… I’m sorry I’m too young to remember how they really were back in the nineties… :\ But Fallout’s sure awesome. Arcanum’s great too, ToEE’s was just HUGE. Comparing it to Oblivion’s, it’s just overwhelming…

    StarCraft had a nice manual too, pretty nice 🙂

  3. Up until last night (after reading through the thread) had I never once used the keyboard for anything other than opening the main menu while playing through either game.

    He makes this sound like a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

