ChrisT Talks

mrhandy.jpg

Original Mr.Handy sketch-Chris Taylor/Interplay

Yesterday we read some some replies from Dan Ross, Gary”VXSS” Noonan and Ricardo “200x” Gonzalez on questions regarding Fallout, and so did Chris “anarchy” Taylor, Lead Designer on Fallout 1, creator of my favorite game manual and Senior Designer on Fallout: Tactics, that shared some thoughts on what he read at NMA:

Two comments on the interview:

1. Interface & Hotkeys
I’ve been playing FO again and there are definitely areas of the interface I would re-design using the experience I’ve gained over the years. Skill use and Inventory are _way_ up there. Bummer the guy didn’t find the hotkeys, it makes the game so much more enjoyable to play.

2. Weapons
The gun choices in FO1 were 90% mine. I felt that weapon technology would have developed differently in the Fallout universe after the split with our timeline, so I tried to make less of the weapons “real-world”. The two exceptions (that I can remember) are the Desert Eagle .44 and the 9mm Mauser. The DE was my favorite gun at the time and I had to include it. The 9mm Mauser is an older weapon that I think has a very cool, unique look to it.

Others, like the .223 and the 10mm guns, were based on real-world weapons. (There are guys out there that make pistols that shoot rifle cartridges, like the .223. I applaud their insanity. ^_^)

The 14mm is pure speculation.

And the energy weapons are just plain out fantasy.

My only regret is not including a Colt .45. It fits in the same category as the Mauser. I think it was a question of trying to keep the number of ammo types down.

Nowadays, it’s a more interesting question of what weapons to include because more manufacturers pay attention to how their products are used in computer and video games. You might (erm, probably) have to get permission from Glock, for example, to use their likenesses and marks in a game.

-Chris

Heard that Dan? Use the hotkeys man, much better that way. By the way Chris rocks!

Leave a Reply

