Are Developers Even Listening?

101.jpg

Are developers even listening? Games Radar wants answers, and people like Bethesda Games Community Manager Matt “Gstaff” Grandstaff are called in to provide those answers:

GR: Firstly, what’s your name and job role, and are you on the frontline of community relations?

Matt: My name’s Matt Grandstaff, community manager at Bethesda Softworks. Since my first day of work, Todd Howard has referred to me as the bullet shield in Counter-Strike…so yeah, I guess that makes me the guy on the front line.

GR: Do developers really listen to gamers? Or should gamers stick to gaming and leave developing to developers?

Matt: The folks at our office definitely listen to what the fans have to say. On any given day, you’ll even see devs actively participating in discussion within our own forums or commenting on our blog. Additionally, I spend a lot of my time informing guys of any feedback, good and bad, that I feel the developers should be aware of.[…]

GR: How much attention do Bethesda give to the opinions/suggestions of people beyond your own dedicated community? Do you spend significant time sifting through a broad selection of gaming forums?

Matt: I think it’s a pretty significant chunk of time. On my end, I’m trying to find out as much as I can about how gamers feel about our games – whether it’s in game-specific fansites or general gaming communities. Equally as important, I like to see what kind of feedback folks have on other games, so we can learn what gamers think other companies are doing right or wrong.

GR: Have ideas generated within the community – on your own forums, for example – ever made it into your games?

Matt: Definitely. With Fallout 3, we ran a community contest allowing one fan’s ‘perk’ to be included in the game. In another instance, this past summer I saw a huge demand for modding tools for Star Trek: Legacy and talked to some of our producers on that game about it. We had guys here volunteer to put together scripting tools during their free time so we could release them for the community to use. Beyond that we obviously get an awful lot from people on the forums when they actually get to play our games and provide feedback on that experience. That’s always important for us as we look to what we want to do in our future games.

GR: How are ideas/suggestions offered within the community relayed to the rest of the team for consideration? Do you have dedicated meetings for that kind of thing?

Matt: Generally I pass on these ideas either face to face with individuals at the office, or simply send an email over to the appropriate person. For instance, we’ve had some recent discussions about the Pip-boy 3000 diary Istvan Pely wrote for our Fallout 3 website. When I see interesting feedback about the Pip-boy, I try to loop in Istvan so he knows what folks are thinking.

GR: Does community feedback genuinely help to make better games? Has the industry as a whole benefited from the rise of communities?

Matt: I believe it does. With online gaming communities being as vocal as they are, developers can’t help but be cognisant of what people think they’re doing right vs. what they’re doing wrong. I think our team learned quite a bit from feedback we’ve received from Oblivion, and folks will see how we’ve responded in Fallout 3 and in future games. The feedback we get in all its forms from the community only furthers our ability to understand what worked and what didn’t work so that we can do better next time.

I agree that they seem to have listened to the criticisms directed at Oblivion, but for the rest with the devs being forced by a NDA not to talk about Fallout 3, and being forbidden to post on the fansites, or to give any feedback that might slightly have to do with the game or the suggestions of the fans, kind of stops me from being very excited about their communication with the fans and gamers in general. Black Isle Studios folks were much better on that.

Spotted at NMA.

9 thoughts on “Are Developers Even Listening?

  1. Sounds good what Matt is saying there, but the reality is: we don’t see a lot of this feedback action from the dev side.
    I’m not saying that they don’t listen – I’ve seen too many dev’s lurking in threads and apparently reading what fans had to say. But their feedback is very much lacking. And it’s basically allways the same dev’s you’re finding there – a select few. And apart from Emil doing a few posts (which you can count on half a hand) – where are the guys in charge posting some more?

  2. For me it’s not so much that we don’t see anyone posting, I can live with that – not that I like it, but I understand it. It’s when I see certain people from the dev team constantly sniping on the boards at prominent posters who don’t appreciate the changes. Sure, as a dev you have to think you’re doing the right thing but the way to make that clear is by expounding on why the changes are good, not by using passive-agressive methods to question other posters and design decisions from the original games.

  3. I find Rad Hamster funny. (that’s who you’re talking about right? He’s the only one I ever read that is constantly offering his verbal tea bag to NMA’ers)…

  4. RadHamster is my favorite. Aside from Pete, of course. I’m so happy that I have two persons inside the team that personally hate me 🙂 And maybe ashley hates me too, but I can’t say for sure. I hope he doesn’t because I kind of like his style…

  5. @ killzig
    We already cleared that up darling 😉

    @ Brother None
    And with good reason 😈 Seriously, they have Fallout fans on principle, most of them at least.

Leave a Reply

