Fallout Feel

gears-of-war-20071101062306943-000.jpg

Picture from Gears of War/IGN

AdAstra placed this question on the Bethesda Games Forum:

Imagine that your favorite game series is, say, the Elder Scrolls series. How how would you feel if the Elder Scrolls V featured turn-based combat and a free-floating, eye-in-the-sky third-person camera?

Matt “Gstaff” Grandstaff, Bethesda’s Community Manager replied:

I see where you’re coming from here. Now I cant say I grew up a Fallout fan, but I know that other franchises I loved growing up took drastically different routes with sequels (such as Retro Studios’ take on Metroid), and in many cases I ended up loving these games. Personally, I’d suggest having an open mind when it comes to Fallout 3…our guys are definitely trying to give it the “Fallout” feel. Of course, you’re free to do as you like smile.gif

Metroid isn’t the only example, GTA is also a good one. But there are instances when the opposite occurred, like on the Master of Orion series, the X-Com series, Deus Ex II, Fallout: Brotherhood of Steel…

Anyway after some roar Gstaff cleared something up:

TwinkieGorilla: i don’t want a bethesda game with “Fallout” feel. i want FALLOUT dammit!!

Gstaff: Yeah, maybe I didn’t phrase it well. Obviously, we’re out to make a Fallout sequel. In the end when it’s released, it’s ultimately up to you to decide on how you classify the game.

We sure will.

8 thoughts on “Fallout Feel

  1. They need to take a page out of the “Witchers” book. Stop telling me it will feel like Fallout, start showing me.

    Does anyone else remember The Witcher’s extensive video demo’s that showed some action/effect + dialogue tree’s, etc? And that was a year+ before release. Those made me anticipate The Wither more than any rpg since VB (thankfully it panned out to be a great game), why not do something similar with Fallout?

  2. I see where you’re coming from here. Now I cant say I grew up a Fallout fan, but I know that other franchises I loved growing up took drastically different routes with sequels (such as Retro Studios’ take on Metroid), and in many cases I ended up loving these games. Personally, I’d suggest having an open mind when it comes to Fallout 3…our guys are definitely trying to give it the “Fallout” feel. Of course, you’re free to do as you like 🙂

    Shut up. What about if Tomb Raider turned first person? If the only example you can come up with from those “many” games you talk about is metroid, then shut up. For god’s sake…

  3. Also, @ brios, GTA didn’t change design as much as it changed technology. It’s still about stealing cars and going crazy and kill frenzy and on a rampage in a crazy imaginary world. GTA hasn’t changed. Metroid, I don’t know, haven’t played it. But GTA hasn’t changed. Fallout did change, though, in Tactics, in BOS and in the upcoming BOS2.

    Fallout is not about choices and consequences, that’s what RPGs are about. And Fallout being a RPG has that as a given. You don’t go and do a Gran Turismo 5 a clone of Need for Speed Hot Pursuit and say that GT is about driving cars, because that’s stupid. That’s what all driving games are about. Just like C&C are what all RPGs (should be) are about.

    Fallout is…

    you know what Fallout is.

  4. Hmm, I have to say that I must be one of the rare people who like the old GTA more than the new. Somehow the old perspective clicked better with me. Oh well, I’m not much of a fan anyway.

  5. GTA did changed the tone. Before it was much more satiric, with the US flag and all, not to mention the elvis dudes, and whatnot. GTA3+ changed that a bit, going towards a more realistic “professional” approach to all of the original GTA cities. It changed a bit, but not because of the technological differences, I think.

    You are right, gimly, to an extent. GTA started off as a sidestream game, only to become a media junky (hot coffee?) and a mainstream do what others do. Driver was t3h thing by then, and it was 3D and all. Atari managed to keep doing what they do best (i.e. crap) and GTA went on ahead with GTA3 without major problems. They did what the mainstream wanted, and there they went. The thing is, GTA is that kind of game, it was never meant to appeal to very specific niche market that don’t quite like what the mainstream is doing. GTA was kind of a revolution for its time (not a very large, but a revolution nonetheless) and GTA3 was a revolution too, on its own. That’s a nice thing to see in a series, specially when it doesn’t change its span (so much).

    Fallout as a revolution for its time, and it’s more than obvious that, should FO3 be an exact copy of Fallout (design wise, that is) it wouldn’t be a revolution anymore. Bethesda knows that, and knew that when they bought the series. They wanted, and they said, to recreate that feeling when you first saw fallout, but they forgot that the feeling we had was largely caused by the revolution fallout meant for the industry. And Fallout 3 is not a revolution at all. Unless there’s a whole lot more to see from it, which I strongly doubt.

    That is the reason why I say that fterfall may be the new Fallout of CRPGs, revolutionizing everything. At least that’s what they make me believe when I read they’re FAQs and interviews. Afterfall may well have understood what Fallout was and meant at its time, and they are trying to recreate that. With different mechanics, with different approaches, with different settings, but they may well be able to pull off another slow incredible hit like Fallout was. I hope they do, because bethesda sure won’t.

    Maybe Fallout 3 will sell a lot. Maybe it won’t. I’ve read a lot of different opinions about it and I’m yet to make up my mind. I don’t really know what to think. If in the one hand you have the not-so-small-and-not-so-huge hype machine bethesda has, they’re not-so-great-but-loved-by-the-lamestream-public-nonetheless background and they PR bullshit that seems to appeal so much to gaming reviewers and even some game journalists, you have, on the other hand, the Fallout name. All could go well if the other hand wasn’t a doubleheaded spear (or however you english people say it). Something that can do both harm and heal. Fallout name will sell. It won’t, just by itself, it won’t. Because you may have people that have heard the name and may buy the game on it, and you may have people that have played the first game and loved it and know nothing about FO3 and buy it just because it’s fallout (only to suffer a huge disappointment, I’d say), but you also have poeple that simply don’t care about it because it’s turn based, because it’s top down, because it’s boring, only because they know the first games are like that and the third must be the same. I know two of those cases, and they make me happy and smile.

    Still, it’s unbalanced, and, in the short term, I believe that the fallout name will do more good than bad to bethesda, but they would be much better with a new IP. And in the long run, Fallout will hurt them bad, and that run may prove to be shorter than many believe it will be. I don’t really know. If it was up to me, Fallout 3 would flop tremendously, and bethesda would loose millions. But it’s not up to me alone. It’s up to everyone. And as long as I can influence at least one person to thing like I do about what a Fallout have has to be, I’m happy with that, and I can influence Fallout 3’s sales at least twice as much as I would if I was alone in my demand for a good series.

    People may call me close-minded, they may think I’m egocentric or just an old-school activist. I’m not. I enjoy recent games as much as the next person (ok, maybe I don’t), I’m just a regular fan who doesn’t want to see its favorite series turned into something it’s not. And Fallout 3 is not a pen and paper inspired computer role-playing game. It’s not, no matter how you look at it, and I’m yet to see ONE person successfully say it is.

    And on I go on my rambling and ranting and shit 🙂 I love to tap these little dark keys of my keyboard thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

