Soylent Green

bng2-copia.jpg

While talking about the Tiscali Fallout 3 scans Brother None at NMA complained about some of Bethesda’s choices:

That’s interesting, Games for Windows gets the scoop, the very same magazine that’s been hating on Fallout 3 fans continuously for months now, and uses every opportunity to try and degrade us.
Nice, GFW and Bethesda, very nice. Very classy. Not suspect at all.

This discussion reached the Bethesda Games Fallout 3 forum, with TwinkieGorilla asking “remove Jeff Green from your (Bethesda’s) payroll”. Community Manager Matt “Gstaff” Grandstaff had this reaction:

I guess this probably has something to do with the new screens in the new GFW. To let you know, a number of mags were given a new screen or two for coverage they have coming up in current or upcoming issues. G4W just happens to be the first one printed. GFW also put us as the cover to their magazine…I don’t think there’s anything wrong with allowing them to have new screens. On the horizon, you can probably expect to see new screens from other guys covering the game as well.
I’m not going to lie, there are folks at our office do like Jeff Green. I don’t know the guy personally, but I respect a lot of the work he’s done. I understand that some folks in the Fallout community that have a bone to pick with him/GFW, but let’s be fair, that’s not our battle. If you have issues with them, take it up with them.[…]

Do Fallout fans deride new information? Yes. Do they do it with everything we release? No, I can admit to that, but again, we’re not in charge of what they write.

It’s also worth noting that at the end, he says:

The truth of the matter is no one knows a damn thing yet about whether the game will be good or not.

I don’t think that’s gushing.

When confronted with this entry from Green’s blog, Gstaff replied:

He sounds excited after seeing the game at E3…I certainly don’t think that means he’s on our payroll. It’s his blog…it’s his opinion.[…]

I see the points you’re trying to make, but I think you might just be reading into it too much. Generally, we try to be friendly with anyone we encounter. After reading Brother None’s preview, I can recall that he said something along the lines that Pete was a nice guy.
I could be wrong, but I don’t think Jeff and Pete are going to the movies together, or planning family BBQs.

Well more importantly WaynePleasant asked this:

I would like to see a sample of some dialog, perhaps a storyboard of how said dialogue will progress. I’ve seen what amounts to a tech demo, now I want to see people talking. I’d even accept a written example of how a conversation would go.

Gstaff replied with this interesting development:

I imagine you’ll see something like that at some point.

Ok, but when?

One thought on “Soylent Green

Leave a Reply

