The Winner

awardsbethesda.jpg

From the Bethesda Blog:

It’s no small thing to enter a contest and beat out thousands upon thousands of entries to be named the winner. So having risen to the top we thought we’d have a brief chat with the grand prize winner of the Fallout 10th Anniversary contest to find out more about Marc-André from Montréal, the guy behind Grim Reaper’s Sprint.

A few snippets from an interview with Marc:

Your winning entry was submitted on the first day of the contest, so clearly it didn’t take you long to come up with a good idea. How’d you come up with it?
I was back from work, waiting for my girlfriend to come home, so I was checking the latest news on EvilAvatar.com where I found a post on the Fallout contest. My first idea was the ‘Grim Reaper’s Sprint’ since it was a Perk that made you a bit of an action hero in a last ditch moment. In a situation where you’re clearly outnumbered and out gunned, this could potentially give you the edge to kill everyone in a single turn if you’re insanely lucky. It was the kind of perk that would’ve saved me a lot of times in Fallout 2. I was inspired by the last action sequence in Equilibrium when Christian Bale slays countless guards in one seamless series of attacks.

Tell us a little about your experience with the Fallout series. When did you first play them, what’s your favorite moment or memory, etc?
I remember downloading the demo for Fallout 1 when I was a kid with a 28.8 modem. A few years later I bought Fallout 2 and played A LOT, trying to ’sculpt’ the best character. I went on with Fallout Tactics. I remember going on summer vacation and bringing the Game Manuals with me for ‘light reading’. My favourite moment of all time is Fallout 2’s intro narrated by Ron Perlman. “War. War never changes”.

A few comments made by Bethesda Producer Ashley Cheng:

My favorite one was Crazy Eye: Opponents attacking from the front suffer a penalty to hit you because, seriously, that eye is freaking me out.
However, the one that won, Grim Reaper’s Sprint — I would totally use a lot.

Congrats to Marc, you can also read a few impressions left by one of the runner ups, Blinzer, on this blog, congrats to him too, hope he gets a good prize.

Leave a Reply

