Next Big Thing After Oblivion-Updated

1-copia.jpg

From Msnuktech:

Well, the good folks of Bethesda hosted a Fallout 3 day today and I got to sit through around 30 minutes of fascinating in-game footage, which culminated with the destruction of a town called Megaton.

Obviously, being Bethesda’s next big thing after Oblivion, Fallout3 is attracting a massive amount of attention even with a release date of Fall 2008!

The game looks fabulous – it reminded me of Bioshock, Oblivion and S.T.A.L.K.E.R. but with that world class Bethesda polish – amazing voice acting by Ron Perlman and the mighty Liam Neeson – and some brilliant retro touches that will appeal to the fans of the original Fallouts.[…]

Ill be doing a lot more on this next week – so if you are an Oblivion fan, a Fallout fan or just a gamer – look out for a revealing interview and more nuggets of top secret** information.

**By secret, I mean that only most of the gaming press in the world know them.

Yeah, right. He should start checking this blog sometime. Still I’ll keep an eye on what will be revealed.

Update: The author of that post, Patrick Goss, joined us here and had this to say:

Hey – who says I don’t check this blog sometimes )
Cheers for noticing. As far as footage Bethesda say: “We haven’t released any footage yet, and won’t anytime soon.” Thanks for reading the blog. Interview about Fallout 3 will be up Monday or Tuesday on tech & gadgets.

 

He got me there! So let’s keep an eye on Msn UK techs & gadgets.

7 thoughts on “Next Big Thing After Oblivion-Updated

  1. Hey – who says I don’t check this blog sometimes 🙂

    Cheers for noticing. As far as footage Bethesda say: “We haven’t released any footage yet, and won’t anytime soon.”

    Thanks for reading the blog. Interview about Fallout 3 will be up MOnday or Tuesday on tech & gadgets

  2. Hey – who says I don’t check this blog sometimes 🙂

    Ups, you got me there 🙂

    Interview about Fallout 3 will be up MOnday or Tuesday on tech & gadgets

    Thanks for the heads up, I’ll update the blogpost when I get home.

  3. “The game looks fabulous – it reminded me of Bioshock, Oblivion and S.T.A.L.K.E.R. but with that world class Bethesda polish – amazing voice acting by Ron Perlman and the mighty Liam Neeson – and some brilliant retro touches that will appeal to the fans of the original Fallouts.[…]”

    I’m sure this has been said before, but comparisons with Oblivion kind of scare me lol. While I was originally impressed with Oblivion, after that wore off, I quickly got bored with it. I think for me atleast, when you create a game world on that scale, its easy to start seeing the aspects of the game that are ‘vanilla’, and to get lost in that scale and feel like you have no sense of direction or purpose. I hope Fallout 3 doesn’t end up like that.

    Anyway, I’ve been hesitant to judge Fallout 3 until I play it myself, I’m really not sure how its going to turn out. The last time an IP I really cared about was picked up by another company, was when Quicksilver released Masters of Orion 3, one of the most dissappointing sequels in gaming history.

  4. was when Quicksilver released Masters of Orion 3, one of the most disappointing sequels in gaming history.

    Anytime someone mentions MoO3 a thousand kittens cry in despair 😦

    Someone from the FO team actually worked on the AI of that game, I forgot the name, got to look it up.

Leave a Reply

