Inside the Vault: Gstaff

matt3.jpg

From the Bethesda Blog:

We have a special Inside the Vault today, featuring our community manager, Matt Grandstaff. We thought it would be fun to do a special Q&A with Matt since he is our main point of contact with our fan community.

What’s your job at Bethesda?I’m the Community Manager here at Bethesda, so I spend a lot of time in the forums and then sharing information with the developers. No I can’t go downstairs and make the changes myself, but I can pass on what people are talking about. I also co-manage the Bethesda Blog. Gotta say, I have tons of respect for the bloggers of the world. It’s not easy trying to come up with new content all the time, especially since we’re trying to stay focused on Bethesda news. Maybe I should start posting about Britney Spears or iPods…that would help my dilemma. As a part of the marketing department, there’s plenty of other stuff I work on, but I don’t think you’d find it particularly interesting.

In the future, like maybe when Fallout is closer to shipping, I look forward to doing new stuff with the community: community events, podcasts, who knows?

Good idea.

How does it feel being the bullet shield from Counterstrike?

Not sure what you mean by that? Oh, the forums?? Naw, they’re not so bad. I try not to take any criticisms or angry tirades I see in the forums personally. With the information superhighway, everyone gets to throw out their 2 cents on whatever they want to discuss…that’s why going online is great, and that’s why there are forums. Frankly, I think it would be pretty boring if everyone was uber-polite and talked about what they loved in the world. Of course, there are times when I deal with things that are downright nasty or disturbing, but I’m pretty used to that at this point.

They should ask Krazzikat how things were in the old days at Interplay. They have the easy life and they don’t know it…

Pitch your dream game.

I want a game based on the movie Commando. It’s probably the most brilliant film ever made. Maybe a spin-off about Bennett’s early days working alongside John Matrix. In the game, you’d play as Bennett and have the ability to customize your chain mail. Not sure it would pass ESRB regulations, because Bennett enjoys killing a little too much.I sent an email to Todd once explaining that we need to get Vernon Wells to do voice work for Fallout 3. For the Fallout fans, people would be pumped we got someone who was in Road Warrior. In the forums, we don’t typically allow for petitions, but I’ll make an exception for this.

Vernon good. Commando game, not so good.

On my last day as a substitute, I had the pleasure of having a little kid say, “I wish you were dead” before hitting me below the belt with a yo-yo.

The last time the kid was seen he was playing an iso TB game. I kid!

Good luck for the future dude.

Leave a Reply

