Zenimax at DevelopMag

money.jpg

Summer at NMA points out some speculation about Zenimax 300 million dollars deal on Developmag:

Bethesda Softworks, the developer and publisher of 360 hit Oblivion, is setting up a European division reports MCV – and the publisher is reportedly looking to buy European talent.
Although the move is not yet confirmed, the publisher has already hired Blast boss Sean Brennan as a consultant – he’s reputedly seeking a London HQ and recruiting staff.
Specifically, word is that Bethesday is looking for creative staff, with studio acquisitions and a new European development office ‘both looking likely’.

Until now, Bethesda has strictly operated in the US, and gone with other publishers such as Ubisoft and 2K to get its games out in other territories. It has an internal studio and also publishes games by other independent teams.

Going into the acquisition of development studios in Europe is tricky to say the least, but going into publishing in the Old Continent makes sense. Let’s suppose for a moment that Game A in the US market is sold at 59 dollars, and just for sake of the argument the publisher gets 10 dollars out of it. Selling 500000 copies makes a return of 5 million bucks.

Now that same Game A is sold at 59 euros in Continental Europe, and 59 Pounds in Britain, and Beth makes 10 Euros or 10 Pounds in each unity.

That makes a return of US$7.203.000 and US$10.237.500 respectively. Seems a good deal to me.

Of course I still feel this deal has more to do with the MMORPG market, for the PC and Consoles.

26 thoughts on “Zenimax at DevelopMag

  1. “Of course I still feel this deal has more to do with the MMORPG market, for the PC and Consoles.”

    I gotta agree with you on that statement. We are starting to see everyone and their mother trying to get a stake in the MMORPG market, but particularly those dev studios/publishers that are traditionally focused on the single player market. For example, you’ve got EA buying up Bioware, which is working on an unnanounced MMO, and who is teaming up with Lucas Arts.

    So, it won’t surprise me if Bethesda is gearing up to enter the MMO market too. But what I’ve been really wanting for years is a Fallout MMO.

  2. Heresy! Fallout is the opposite of MMO. Fallout is about a desolate wasteland filled with destruction and nothingness, and about the lonely wanderer and his dog, not about a bunch of assclowns grinding on deathclaws and radscorpions. Asking for a fallout MMO is as bas as asking for a FOBOS2, and that’s saying something. Besides, there is a Fallout MMO under development FYI, from IPLY.

    And you’re still an heretic. Burn, you.

  3. For example, you’ve got EA buying up Bioware, which is working on an unnanounced MMO, and who is teaming up with Lucas Arts.

    Yep, competition on the Western RPG side will definitely be fought in the MMO stage.

  4. Man, some fallout fans are so negative. Whether or not you think its ‘heresy’, what lines the devs pockets is what is most likely to sell, and today thats MMOs.

    I reject your portrayal of what fallout is about. Fallout is also about a world thats starting to wake up after a nuclear holocaust. That is obvious in that one of the most important things your character does is to step out of Vault 13. If all it was was wandering around a wasteland with your dog, you wouldn’t have had Shady Sands, Junktown, Vault City, New Reno, etc…In fallout 2 you had the the NCR uniting the towns of the southern california wasteland. And what was your main quest in fallout 2? Retrieving the garden of eden retrieval kit, which was a device for creating a thriving community. So while roaming the wasteland alone is an important element of Fallout, there is so much more to it. Fallout is much more about how humanity rebuilds itself after wholesale nuclear destruction.

    And lastly, I didn’t even bother with FOBOS, so I’d never ask for FOBOS2.

  5. Man, some fallout fans are so negative. Whether or not you think its ‘heresy’, what lines the devs pockets is what is most likely to sell, and today thats MMOs.

    Exactly. And since Fallout devs clearly said Fallout was not good for multiplayer, and since I’m a fan, though negative I may be, which I’m not, I agree with the devs.

    I reject your portrayal of what fallout is about.

    You reject? Oh, sorry mister, I don’t mean to be offensive, but from the moment you say you’d so little as accept a Fallout MMO I reject whatever right you may have bore to say what fallout is about. So, hum, no, it’s not about what I say Fallout is about, it’s about what the devs said and say. The true devs, of course.

    Fallout is also about a world thats starting to wake up after a nuclear holocaust.

    Fallout is about the recreation of pen and paper RPG feel on a post apocalyptic retro futuristic setting. Everything else comes after that.

    If all it was was wandering around a wasteland with your dog, you wouldn’t have had Shady Sands, Junktown, Vault City, New Reno, etc…In fallout 2 you had the the NCR uniting the towns of the southern california wasteland. And what was your main quest in fallout 2? Retrieving the garden of eden retrieval kit, which was a device for creating a thriving community. So while roaming the wasteland alone is an important element of Fallout, there is so much more to it. Fallout is much more about how humanity rebuilds itself after wholesale nuclear destruction.

    Sure is. Now, do tell, how the hell does that allows for a massively multilayer online experience? Unless, of course, and that’s always a possibility (from your part), you want an MMO like second life or something…

    And lastly, I didn’t even bother with FOBOS, so I’d never ask for FOBOS2.

    Of course. I never said you did. I was just establishing an equivalence.

  6. Morbus is definitely going forward towards a stroke, out of stress only. O.o

    osiris1975 I can’t make comments on your blog, don’t know why, never got the confirmation e-mail when I registered.

    Edit: I got it working finally.

  7. “Sure is. Now, do tell, how the hell does that allows for a massively multilayer online experience? Unless, of course, and that’s always a possibility (from your part), you want an MMO like second life or something…”

    I thought it’d be pretty obvious. MMOs are all about community and building them. So the idea a bunch of players getting together to struggle for survival in this wasteland is not I know nothing about second life, I never played it.

    “Fallout is about the recreation of pen and paper RPG feel on a post apocalyptic retro futuristic setting. Everything else comes after that.”

    Hmmm, did you play the pen and paper RPG alll by yourself, or with your dog? Sitting in the desert maybe? Probably not, because pen and paper RPGs are very social, just like an MMO.

    “I reject whatever right you may have bore to say what fallout is about. ”

    I’m posting in America, where my right to say what I want is protected from people like yourself who would gag someone over a discussion about a game, though apparently its more of a religion to you or something cause you are acting like a fallout extremist, which explains why you call me a heretic.

    Secondly, this entire conversation is pretty subjective. The game, like art, and I do consider fallout to be a game that has transcended to a work of art, is whatever the person playing it takes from it. My experience of the game makes it open to the possibility of an MMO. If yours doesn’t, thats fine. The game will always have that special place in my memory, that kind of game you never forget, and thats personal and unique to me, just like your experience is unique to yours. You should be happy, anyways, the fact the Interplay owns the rights to the MMO means it will never see the light of day.

    So, look at yourself, having an aneurysm over a post about a game that will never see the light of day.

    Brios, looks like you got it working, thanks for the post 🙂 I responded.

  8. Hmmm, did you play the pen and paper RPG alll by yourself, or with your dog? Sitting in the desert maybe? Probably not, because pen and paper RPGs are very social, just like an MMO.

    MMO’s can be very social, big difference. Most of the time its about grinding and power leveling, and Fallout is definitely about that, and it’s (arguably) not about social communities and you inside them and all…

    I’m posting in America, where my right to say what I want is protected from people like yourself who would gag someone over a discussion about a game, though apparently its more of a religion to you or something cause you are acting like a fallout extremist, which explains why you call me a heretic.

    Above all, I was clearly trolling. And I live in Europe, if you think America is free…

    Secondly, this entire conversation is pretty subjective.

    It’s not as long as we stay on what the devs talked about. And if you’re a fan like myself (you could be a fan unlike myself) you’d know (or have an idea about) what the devs said about the matter.

    My experience of the game makes it open to the possibility of an MMO. If yours doesn’t, thats fine.

    Sure, I’m not saying you don’t have the right to say whatever you please, or the right to think whatever you want about Fallout. But it doesn’t matter what you and I say, or anyone for that matter. What matters is what the creators said, because it’s not everyone that wholly understands what the devs created. I sure don’t, that’s for sure. Ask Ausir, he knows.

    You should be happy, anyways, the fact the Interplay owns the rights to the MMO means it will never see the light of day.

    I am, for now. Because in two years, they will loose the rights and Bethesda online department will farm Fallout a little more. I just hope EA buys Bethesda at once.

    So, look at yourself, having an aneurysm over a post about a game that will never see the light of day.

    Eheh, I get you. As angry as I may seem, I’m not angry at you, or anyone. It’s not like you’re a bad arguer or anything, and I’m gladly having this “discussion” (?). Don’t judge me for what you read of me, at least don’t put your whole faith on it. Sometimes I’m really angry when I write, but I never get to the point of an aneurysm. I’m calm enough for that. Had I been angry, I wouldn’t even read your post 😛 I’d just flame away based on some random word on your post 😆

  9. Hehe, see that last post was relaxed sounding. Now we can have a nice discussion between two people who love fallout.

    “Above all, I was clearly trolling. And I live in Europe, if you think America is free…”

    Yes, Europe is more free in some respects… but I imagine it depends on the country. There are certain things about France, for example, that completely violate my sense of freedom. I don’t want to go into specifics because we will then be getting into some intensely personal topics.

    “It’s not as long as we stay on what the devs talked about. And if you’re a fan like myself (you could be a fan unlike myself) you’d know (or have an idea about) what the devs said about the matter.”

    To be honest, I don’t know what the devs said about the matter, so you have a leg up on me there. Still, it probably wouldn’t change my opinion. Thats because my standpoint is that when you create a peice of interactive art, part of that art is the interaction that the user has with it. So if a dev came to me and said, “you should experience this game in this manner”, my response would be “if you want all your people to have the same exact experience from your game, you are in the wrong business. Go make a Michael Bay movie” Devs are human, with opinions, just like you and I. And the best devs usually listen to the players to some extent. Which it seems is exactly why so many people are pissed off at Bethesda, because they seem to be trying to force their vision of fallout on everyone with fallout 3.

    Anyway, now that we are all nice and calm, thanks for your responses, they have sparked a few ideas for my blog hehe. 🙂

  10. Yes, Europe is more free in some respects… but I imagine it depends on the country. There are certain things about France, for example, that completely violate my sense of freedom. I don’t want to go into specifics because we will then be getting into some intensely personal topics.

    Yup.

    To be honest, I don’t know what the devs said about the matter, so you have a leg up on me there. Still, it probably wouldn’t change my opinion. Thats because my standpoint is that when you create a peice of interactive art, part of that art is the interaction that the user has with it. So if a dev came to me and said, “you should experience this game in this manner”, my response would be “if you want all your people to have the same exact experience from your game, you are in the wrong business. Go make a Michael Bay movie”

    You are deviating from the issue. It’s not about how we see Fallout, it’s about what it was meant to be. It’s not our game, in the end, that’s what I mean. It’s not our world either.

    Devs are human, with opinions, just like you and I.

    In this case, they are not humans: they are the creators of Fallout. Big difference. They don’t have opinions, they have statements, and what they say is rule.

    Which it seems is exactly why so many people are pissed off at Bethesda, because they seem to be trying to force their vision of fallout on everyone with fallout 3.

    They are not the original devs, that’s why. They have as much right to say what Fallout is about as me and you. Which is none. In the end, it’s not their game just because they bought it.

    Anyway, now that we are all nice and calm, thanks for your responses, they have sparked a few ideas for my blog hehe. 🙂

    Feel free to read this interesting and helpful article, if you haven’t yet: http://www.nma-fallout.com/article.php?id=35764 It alone is more helpful and most of my posts here.

  11. I really cannot picture FOOL (a Fallout MMORPG), but it’s something that comes around cyclically, I do know that a few of the Troika and BIS folks would die to make one.

    Herve Caen is trying of course, but he won’t succeed, and the thing is going to land on the hands of Zenimax Online for sure.

  12. When did Fallout devs say “Fallout was not good for multiplayer”? As far as I know, Fallout multiplayer was actually discussed in a positive light when the first was in development, it just wasn’t feasible then. Lots of Fallout devs would love to work on a Fallout MMO, it’s us fans that have always been adamantly against it. Well, Rosh, anyway.

    I just think it’s stupid to make an MMO in a setting that’s so unnatural for MMOs. If you want a PA MMO, make a setting in which more people are still alive after the apocalypse, Fallout’s just too empty.

  13. Really well made Fallout MMORPG world would be awesome. Inhabitants could form their own communities and such. Too many possibilities to list here, but it would be awesome. If done well. The thing is though, I am not sure Bethesda has these qualities to make such epic project to work.

  14. “In this case, they are not humans: they are the creators of Fallout. Big difference. They don’t have opinions, they have statements, and what they say is rule.”

    I just don’t get it, they made a great game, but you really seem to revere them as saints or something. Thats just something we’ll have to agree to disagree on, and since that appears to be the central crux of your position, we’ll just have to agree to disagree on all of it 🙂

    Thanks for the link, I’ll read it for sure.

  15. Oh one more thing though..

    “You are deviating from the issue. It’s not about how we see Fallout, it’s about what it was meant to be. It’s not our game, in the end, that’s what I mean. It’s not our world either.”

    And that wasn’t deviation from the issue, that was deviation from your standpoint 🙂 They designed a game, I bought it, I played it, I lived it, I loved it. That makes it partly my world. I’d be absolutely elated if the original Fallout team made a sequel that provided the same single player experience, but that doesn’t preclude any other type of game being created. Yes, I know all the spin-offs weren’t great. That doesn’t mean an MMO version would suck.

  16. Furthermore, since we all apparently revere the Fallout devs like they are Gods 😛 Heres what one of them said about a Fallout MMO:

    “According to Feargus Urquhart, when Brian Fargo was still the president of Interplay, Fargo proposed a possible Fallout MMO to be made by Black Isle, but Urquhart refused:

    The reason at the time, because I would have loved to have made a Fallout MMO, was that I believed that Interplay was just not in a situation where they had the resources to do it. When you go off to do an MMO it’s going to cost $100 million before you get it on the shelf; you’ve gotta buy servers and you’ve gotta have service people, and you have to have Game Masters. It’s an undertaking, and on top of that, it means that you do have to do all that stuff so what else are you going to focus on? What other games are you going to be able to make?” (http://fallout.wikia.com/wiki/Fallout_Online)

    So apparently atleast for him, the problem isn’t conceptual, it was logistical.

  17. So apparently atleast for him, the problem isn’t conceptual, it was logistical.

    Something that both Brother None and me said previously. Check our comments.

    By the way there are news about a TeS MMO coming up.

  18. “By the way there are news about a TeS MMO coming up.”

    Meh, theres enough fantasy MMOs out there. Need something different. Thats why I’ve got Tabula Rasa all over my blog lol.

  19. When did Fallout devs say “Fallout was not good for multiplayer”? As far as I know, Fallout multiplayer was actually discussed in a positive light when the first was in development, it just wasn’t feasible then.

    It’s MMO, not common multiplayer. Or am I missing something? I read somewhere some dev saying that Fallout was definitely not good for MMO.

    I just don’t get it, they made a great game, but you really seem to revere them as saints or something.

    I do, but that’s not the point. The point is that it’s their game, and no one has the right to mess with their game and tell *them* what it is about.

    And that wasn’t deviation from the issue, that was deviation from your standpoint 🙂

    Ehehe, I guess 😛

    They designed a game, I bought it, I played it, I lived it, I loved it. That makes it partly my world.

    Which brings us back to the point…

    Heres what one of them said about a Fallout MMO:

    Urquhart is (thankfully) not one of the original designers, and Fargo had nothing to do with it. So, I fail to see the relevance of the quote.

  20. I read somewhere some dev saying that Fallout was definitely not good for MMO.

    I don’t think any dev has said that ever. Beyond Fargo (who is not a Fallout dev, osiris) proposing it, it isn’t ever mentioned, at all.

    I think it’s a stupid idea, but people will do as people will do. Sure there’s a lot of potential in a PA MMO if handled well, imagine a Gorka Morka (well, Necromunda now-esque MMO, with the same kind of character development and factionalism. That’d be excellent. Fallout? Just the wrong setting, no matter how well you do it.

  21. I said Fargo, not Feargus.

    Morbus: there were 6 original concept designers, not 5: Leonard Boyarsky, Tim Cain, Jason D. Anderson, Scott Campbell, Jason Taylor and Chris Taylor. There are others outside that list who have been vital, such as Scott Everts and Jess Heinig

Leave a Reply

