Design a Perk

fallout_contest.gif

I’m reminding everyone of the Fallout 10th Anniversary Contest, here’s the announcement by Pete Hines on the Bethblog:

10 years ago Fallout was finished and began making its journey into the hands and hearts of RPG fans everywhere. Seems more like a birthday than an anniversary. Perhaps it’s both. I do actually remember the release of Fallout in part because at the time I was working (part-time) at The Adrenaline Vault and Interplay was one of “my companies.”

In other words, I was our main point of contact for them, reviewed and previewed most of their games, etc. (along with 3DO, Interactive Magic, MGM Interactive, 7th Level…I sense a trend here). I don’t think I reviewed it because we had someone at AVault who was focusing on RPGs at the time and I let them review it, since they had primarily played every other RPG that was out at the time. But I did play it and I kept my copy, which sits proudly…somewhere in my office, I think. Sorry, off on a tangent here…where were we?

Fallout. 10 years. We bounced around a lot of ideas on how we could best honor Fallout and its 10th Anniversary/Birthday. We decided that we should do something we’ve never done before for any of our games (that I’m aware of anyway): give fans a chance to create something we’ll use in the game. We talked about it and we thought perhaps the best option was to do something where folks could be creative in a way that is very much Fallout, and not have it be overly complex. We also didn’t want it to be trivial (e.g., “name this person, creature, thing”).

So we went with designing a Perk. Perks are a big part of what makes Fallout the game and series it is. It’s a great part of the character system, there’s room for creativity, you can use your artistic skills if you want, they use Vault Boy…seemed a good choice. If you need to brush up on your Fallout Perks, perhaps a trip over to The Vault wiki over on Wikia might be in order to brush up on your Fallout and Fallout 2 Perks.

A trip to The Vault is always a good idea.

18 thoughts on “Design a Perk

  1. Eheheh, this one from Meebo is cute:

    perk: Brother of none other
    perks: you get a +10 bonus to sneaking
    cons: all your dialog options lead to violence
    😦

    Not a true Perk though, more a Trait.

  2. Something puzzles me though. They say we shouldn’t worry about any stat or level requirements. That’s fine. But how can we explain what we have envisioned for the Perk? Should people just submit some flavour text (ie., “you are strong and bulky”) and leave that as inspiration for the devs, or can we suggest actual game mechanics in the text (ie., “you are strong (+1 Strength) and bulky (+10lbs to inventory)”)?

  3. @ ausir
    Did I missed something? Last time I checked, ss’s showed nothing of them, everybody was complaining and no dev came in and said something that appeased the angry mobs… Maybe they’re in, but I wouldn’t be surprised if they aren’t, specially considering how bethesda works… With their own IP, let alone with others’…

  4. Screenshots haven’t shown any perks, traits nor skills, because we’ve only seen one character sheet screenshot, but it doesn’t mean they aren’t there. The Game Informer preview says that during GOAT you select both the tag skills and traits.

  5. I can’t think of any perks that fall outside of the ‘mean-spirited meta’ category so I’m going to take a pass. Maybe someone can make a Sock Puppet 200x perk, happy cookies abound and your dialog makes you sound like a blithering idiot. D-:

Leave a Reply

