Jason Anderson!

NMA finally managed to get in touch with Jason D. Anderson, Fallout 1’s lead technical artist and one of the 6 original game designers and later co-founder of Troika. This was something I was looking forward for years now, at last Jason speaks:

Tell us a little about your role in the making of Fallout 1/2/3 (Van Buren)/Tactics?

I worked on the original Fallout. I was the second person on the team, was brought in to do art, and worked closely with Tim on developing how to get the art into the game engine. In the beginning, the genre of what was to become Fallout was unknown. At that point, all we knew was that it was going to be a GURPS game.

Tim had open meetings after work for design on the project. So Tim, myself, and other people that were going to be on the project began meeting and discussing concepts we wanted to make. During this time, Tim expressed his desire to build the world out of hexes, so I came up with a way to incorporate the landscape (tile) and wall art into a hex system.

Ultimately, I became the Technical Art Lead on the project, creating a majority of the tile sets, 1/2 the wall sets, 1/3 of the characters, lots of the interface art, lots of the creatures, the opening movie and vault overrun movie and a few of the end game shots. Near the end of production I also wrote a lot of dialog and designed quests in order to make the game feel more complete.

And prior to leaving and forming Troika, Tim, Leonard and I created a skeleton design doc of what we thought Fallout 2 should be, which was partially followed by the Fallout 2 team.[…]

What specifically inspired Fallout for you? What were the biggest influences?

Leonard. Leonard was my biggest art influence on Fallout. I shared an office with him, so I suppose this was only natural. Leonard drove the look and feel of the art in the game and some of what he was doing with the game I was familiar with, but some of it he introduced me to. In regards to art style, I was truly following his lead as to the look and feel of the game. Although, after spending 3 years sharing an office with him, I pretty much nailed down the look and feel of Fallout. Ask me a question now – I know it all.

Other than art, I can’t think of any one thing that specifically inspired Fallout for me. I mean, I brought along all of my previous game playing experiences – but I didn’t pull from any one source. I have always had a drive to excel at what I do. And since creating an RPG was something I had wanted to do since I was a kid – this was the pinnacle of my life. I was doing the best job I could – pulling from every experience and resource I had. And I’m very proud to have worked on such a great project and with such great people.[…]

What is your hope for future Fallout games? Would you like to be a part of a future Fo team?

I would love to be part of a future Fallout team. I really feel that I have a lot to offer to a future Fallout project. I was there from the beginning and feel that I absorbed everything in regards to concepts, design and art and I’d love to get a chance to do it one more time.

To that end, I hope that Bethesda is successful with Fallout 3. Purely for selfish reasons – further success of Fallout ensure that future Fallout’s will be made. Wink[…]

Any last word to the Fallout fan base?

Thanks for making Fallout one of the most enduring RPGs of all time. Its a dream come true to have worked on a game that has been so well received and to have been a part of its creation. Sincerely, thank you.

No, thank YOU man!

The Fallout’s 10th Anniversary feature at NMA is getting better and better, good work guys.

One thought on “Jason Anderson!

  1. God damn it! Should I win the lottery (too bad I don’t play) I’d make a new studio and regroup the WHOLE original team into a new game, something new, something post apoc, something unique and revolutionary. Something like Fallout 🙂

    Hey, why do the lottery always avoid guys like me?!

Leave a Reply

