Bruce Nesmith at the Vault

nesmith.jpg

Bruce Nesmith is next developer featured on the Bethesda Blog Inside the Vault series:

What’s your job at Bethesda?

I am the Director of Design, and a Senior Game Designer. It sounds cooler than it is.

You’ve worked in the industry for a while now.

I actually started out doing computer games for the TRS-80 and Apple II+. Ah, those were the days. 64K of memory, 5 ¼ inch floppy disks, four color video. They didn’t even have a mouse! It wasn’t long before I moved into pen and paper roleplaying games and board games for TSR, which I did for about 12 years. Then in 1985 I was hired by Bethesda Softworks. They were working on a little game called Daggerfall. I did a lot of work on that title. I also contributed to Terminator: Skynet, Redguard, Battlespire, PBA Bowling, X-Car, and eventually Morrowind.

What pen and paper RPGs did you work on?

I’ve lost count of the games I made while at TSR. I did work with Marvel Superheroes, D&D, AD&D (1st and 2nd edition), Gamma World, and Buck Rogers. I’m probably best known as the author of the original Ravenloft boxed set. For quite a while I was the lead for that product line. I also did work with Dark Sun, Forgotten Realms, Dragonlance, and Mystara. I was the designer of the Dragonstrike board game, and worked heavily on the Spellfire collectible card game.[…]

What is your favorite part about working on Fallout?

I’ve always loved the post-apocalyptic setting. I did a lot of work with Gamma World while at TSR and really loved it. It was one of my favorite non-traditional roleplaying games. In particular, the work we’re doing with multiple paths through a quest and the moral choices the player has to make are very cool.

It also doesn’t suck to empty a clip into a Supermutant and watch him dissolve into a gory mess.

Now that’s a resume! Wow!

Funny thing though Ashley Cheng stopped asking if the devs played Fallout, I wonder why...

Update: Replying to the question by pritaygrafixd00d “May I ask why was the “Did you play the Fallout 1/2 games?” question not asked?Pete Hines had this to say:

Sure you can ask. You can go back through the Inside the Vaults and note that we try not to always ask the same questions to everyone each time. Otherwise we feel like it gets stale and boring.

Hmmmm….

5 thoughts on “Bruce Nesmith at the Vault

Leave a Reply

