Love isn’t changing

folove.jpg

The Bethesda Fallout 3 forum can be a harsh place sometimes, Jonah”KamikazeKangaroo”Lobe took the opportunity given in this topic to ask for calm:

I hear Ralod, and I’ve got to agree with him. I hate seeing people flaming eachother in these forums, when the real issues are the game themselves. Fallout is obviously getting ridiculously controversial, but whichever side you’re on (pro or anti-Bethesda), it seems to me avoiding direct fights with people here seems counter-productive to any real debate, and, it seems to me, hurts whatever argument you’re trying to make.

I don’t mean to come in with any kind of holier-than-thou attitude, I just figured I had to join the ranks of those counseling calm, reasonable conversation.

I think I’ve just attracted the hatred of two dozen people sad.gif

And after Brother None from NMA posted his reply:

I hear you, Johan, and I’ve been saying the same thing for a while now, ‘cept that I always supplement it by saying “I don’t expect anything to change.” It’s generally better for your health if you do the same. It’s a sad situation, but it’s a nice stew this forum broiled up. A fairly hopeless one. People here are more interested in sniping at each other than discussing any game. Who cares about the game? This is internet anger here, way more important! How dare those NMA people/Bethesda fans have an opinion, I’ll teach them!

KamikazeeKangaroo got back to the issue at hand:

It’s “Jonah” wink.gifHahah, well put, well put. I suppose you’re right, as depressing as that might be… And on a personal note, None, I should say that I respect that, while you seem to lack confidence in our abilities and approach (which I hope to prove you wrong on, come Fall 2008), from what I’ve seen of your input, you’ve made good points and are blessed with the mental capacity for reason and analysis… things that are sometimes lacking in online forums.

This is not to put anyone else down, of course. I think the vast majority of forum readers – and posters – have a lot of interesting feedback and ideas, and present their hope and/or despair about the future of Fallout in reasonable, logical, convincing ways. I also want people to know that we Bethesda people visit the forums more than you know (but also tend to do little more than skim those posts that seem to be composed of nothing but unconstructive hatred), and we definitely appreciate that the Fallout fanbase hasn’t dwindled. It’s just too bad that a small, vocal minority tend to give the forums a bad name, spark conflict and anger, and imbue Bethesda people like myself with a deep aversion to wading in the murky, piranha-laden waters that is the Forums.

And, to come full circle with the thread, I personally have no idea why no Fallout Fansites weren’t invited… I certainly wasn’t involved in the decision-making process.

6 thoughts on “Love isn’t changing

  1. reasonable conversation.

    Lol, reasonable? What for? I mean, what the fuck do we even gain for arguing and talking (reasonably or not) right there? Why the fuck should we care if our opinions are heard or not?! They won’t make a fucking difference…

  2. I think the vast majority of forum readers – and posters – have a lot of interesting feedback and ideas, and present their hope and/or despair about the future of Fallout in reasonable, logical, convincing ways.

    It’s not that simple, actually. A lot of people do have interesting ideas. The “problem” is that most of those people don’t care to be heard, because they know it wouldn’t make any difference, besides maybe gaining some respect from the community. I like to see threads like “Let’s help make it a better game rather than struggle on dead unrealistic expectations (like turn based and such)” and I find that’s very nice, but when *I* personally try to post something in there, I find I don’t really want to help Fallout 3 become a better game, because it’s not a game I want, I want a turn based point and click fallout, without teenage jokes and forced humor, that is true to the lore. So I don’t really want to improve something I simply don’t want: I’d sooner complain about me not getting what I want, and even that I don’t do anymore (at least there). And I bet there are a lot of people like me, that still complain about Fallout 3 not staying true to the series.

    It has something (a little) to do with what the devs say sometimes, that they read mostly only the posts that don’t use flaming and such. Well, of course they do that, it’s only a normal human reaction. Thing is, why would one care to be heard by another when he already knows that that another is holier that thou and will never agree with us, and instead, will run away and use the monumentally stupid argument of “you’re entitled to your opinion”… -_-

    NB: I believe Bethesda think they are doing the right thing. The problem here is that they simply don’t know any better, of course they think they’re right…

  3. And, to come full circle with the thread, I personally have no idea why no Fallout Fansites weren’t invited… I certainly wasn’t involved in the decision-making process.

    Aha, that’s rich! 😆 He, that works at Bethesda, certainly has no idea why no fansites were invited, and me, a jerk that knows very little about marketing and stuff, that lives in the other side of the work and that has very little knowledge of how a company works, actually have an idea as to why they were not invited. Guess what: they are fansites, they know what fallout is about. Check every and single fansite out there and see what their reaction is. Go, really, I’m not kidding. Given that they are more than a year old (definitely eliminating the possibility of *Fallout 3* fansites coming into the sample), all of them don’t like what bethesda is doing. Ones more, others less, of course… And I already saw people calling them “fans” with the commas… Well, what?!?!?!? If anything they should thank those “fans” because they are getting their little jerky FOE, because if it wasn’t for those “fans” they would be getting NOTHING, only all the others FPS’s out there, of course, but that’s another issue.

Leave a Reply

