Dane Olds: Inside The Vault

lotr_movie_gimli.jpg

From the Bethblog:

Don’t be afraid, kids. It is just Dane Olds, artist, for this week’s Inside the Vault.

What’s your job at Bethesda?
I’m a character artist here at Bethesda. I mainly do modeling and texturing for the weapons in Fallout 3. I also do outfits for characters on occasion.

What other games have you worked on?
I started out in the game industry here at Bethesda. I got my break working as an environment art intern on Shivering Isles. Before I graduated college I worked as a project lead/character artist on a total conversion mod for Half-Life 2 called Forever Bound.

What is the best part about working as an artist? The worst part?
The best part about being an artist for me is seeing my artwork in a game. I love figuring out how objects work, I love the creative process, and I love seeing an idea turn into a piece of art, but at the end of the day seeing my hard work on screen makes everything worth the effort. The worst part about being an artist for me is seeing your work cut from a game. As an artist your work will get cut at some point. Even though it’s for the greater good, to see something you’ve toiled over for hours go into the trash can is always difficult.

Here’s what he told us previously about his best experience with Fallout:

My favorite moment from Fallout was when I discovered the sheer destructive power of grenades. I got into a fight with some bandits and was in way over my head. I desperately checked my inventory for anything I could use to settle the score and discovered I had one frag grenade. I chucked it into the group of bandits and watched the carnage unfold. Unfortunately I was too close to the blast and just survived by the skin of my teeth. The bandits weren’t so lucky though, and I was rewarded with a nice shiny new suit of metal armor.

2 Responses

  1. You sure you got the right picture?
    I mean it’s hard to make out beyond all the fuzz, but the axe kinda put me off…
    Then again, who knows what the internal policies at Beth are like. And those americans is general seem to be keen on being armed…

  2. His reaction to the pick:

    Briosa, I can’t begin to tell you how flattered I am.

    :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

