Fallout 3: Better To Be Honest

mattg.jpg

Matt “Gstaff” Grandstaff (photo Bethblog

Busy day at the Bethesda Games Fallout 3 forum, let’s start with this topic, with aftrburn stating this:

[...]it’s not going to be the same game you played 10 years ago. If people are only hoping for that and nothing else, they’ll probably be disappointed.”
These statements are divisive and potentially alienating. If I were trying to bolster confidence and move a fan base these are not things I would be saying.

Community Manager Matt “Gstaff” Grandstaff replied:

Well, I figure it’s better to be honest than to sugar-coat my response with a guarantee that it’s a game every Fallout fan will love. I merely stated that if a fan is expecting the exact same gameplay experience that Fallout 1 and 2 offered, they’d be disappointed. I’d venture to guess there will be plenty of Fallout fans that end up enjoying Fallout 3.[...]

ll I can say is that the devs do read the forums — so they can take any input/suggestions/ideas into consideration — that’s no different than how we’d approach any other title we’re working on. Given that the devs aren’t allowed to discuss game specifics within the forums, there’s not too much that we can deliver in terms of responding to fan input. That said, I’ve done my best to pass along feedback on gameplay.

Then the discussion continued:

grayx: what part, section, slice of fallout fans will like this new Beth’s game? 90%, 55%, 21%, 5% of total old fan base [all sequels included]?

Gstaff: Aren’t I at HQ too? Sorry, I don’t have a mathematical formula for getting a percentage.

grayx: What does it means “some fans will not like this game”? In what sense?

Gstaff: As I phrased it, if there’s a fan that wants the same gameplay experience that was delivered 10 years, they’d probably be disappointed. You’ve already seen screenshots of the game and read the previews, so I assume you realize it’s a different game (real time combat, camera perspective, and so on). If the information released already has you in an uproar…well, there’s a chance you’re not going to like it.

HeyYou: Some interaction between the devs, and the fans, could only be a good thing? One of the major complaints on the forum is a lack of information.

Gstaff: We did run a fan interview (and will probably do another one) where fans got to ask 20+ questions about the game, so I don’t think it’s fair to say we haven’t shared information with the fans.
As far as talking about specifics of Fallout 3 in the forums, the policy is what it is. We’re not getting into that at this time…sorry.

Ralod: To be fair, most of the “questions” were softball ones we already knew the answers to. And the ones that were not were not really answered, or were answered as “Not ready to answer that yet”. Not really a Fan interview[...]

Gstaff: The policy is the same as it’s been with any of our games. We’re simply getting into detailed discussions about the ins and outs of the game right now. I understand you’re anxious to have more information, but it’s just not something that’s going to be happen in the forums right now.

Ralod: Hmm, thats not quite true. I seem to remember quite a bit of interaction with Devs while Morrowind was in production.

Gstaff: I stand corrected. It’s the company policy that had been in place for several years then.

I had to edit quite a lot, so take a look for yourselves and tell me what do you think.

Surfs Up, Shooting Too

surf-s-up-posters.jpg

Image AllPosters.com

Previously I’ve talked about Surfer Girl naming Fallout 3 as the third best shooter for 2008. I went back to the source and asked her/him this:

Monday morning at 10 the Bethsoft people are going to start their computers and won’t be very pleased about your idea that Fallout 3 is going to the third best shooter in 2008.
They are very adamant that they are working on an RPG or a “cross bending genre” game.
Anything you want add to that opinion?

Here is the answer, sorry for the typos:

briosafreak: A shooter can have RPG elements unless I was confused when playing Mass Effect, BioShock, Deus Ex, et cetera. I definitely was not suggest that Fallout 3 won’t be one of the amongst the very best games of the year.